Memorial Healthcare System Caregivers Named Joe DiMaggio American Icon Award Winners

May 14, 2021

american icon award cake 2021

The caregivers of the Memorial Healthcare System were recognized for more than a year of commitment and sacrifice during the COVID-19 pandemic with the 8th annual “Joe DiMaggio American Icon Award.” The honor recognizes those that represent the values Joe DiMaggio stood for and who have made contributions that influenced American society.

The announcement was made during an online broadcast (watch recap below) that included live appearances from previous award winners Bob Costas, Gloria Estefan, and James Patterson. The virtual event raised nearly $500,000 and was viewed by approximately 5,000 unique visitors.

Memorial employees join a who’s who of former award winners that include:

  • Bill Clinton (2014)
  • Magic Johnson (2015)
  • Pat Riley (2016)
  • Gloria Estefan (2017)
  • Derek Jeter (2018)
  • James Patterson (2019)
  • Bob Costas (2020)

The May 13th fundraiser benefitted the nonprofit, Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital Foundation, and will help underwrite programs, services, and facilities at Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital. The event’s champion sponsor was TeamHealthStearns Weaver Miller Weissler Alhadeff & Sitterson and Harvard Jolly Architecture were clipper sponsors.


American Icon Award 2021 Recap

american icon award 2021 thumbnail
Watch a recap of the 2021 Joe DiMaggio American Icon Award virtual event held on May 13.